Affirm has struck a multi-year agreement to become Sam’s Club’s exclusive buy-now, pay-later provider, according to Bloomberg, which cited a company statement that did not disclose financial terms.
Bloomberg reported that Affirm will begin serving in that role on Sam’s Club’s website in the coming weeks, with a rollout to stores in 2027.
That is the useful part of “exclusive.” It tells you where Affirm has won placement: inside the payment flow of a major warehouse retailer owned by Walmart. It does not, on the evidence available here, say what borrowers will be offered, what approvals will look like, or how expensive any given installment plan may be.
Those are not minor details for a product category that lives or dies on the difference between convenience and cost. A buy-now, pay-later button can look like a checkout feature when it is also, plainly, a form of borrowing. Bloomberg’s summary does not include loan terms, fees, eligibility standards or other consumer-facing conditions.
Bloomberg also said Affirm founder and chief executive Max Levchin discussed the deal on Bloomberg Businessweek Daily. The statement cited by Bloomberg did not disclose the terms.
Marcus Azzopardi
Alex de Valletta
Dua Mifsud